Max Corbacho

Max Corbacho is an independent artist born in the southwest of Spain, in the province of Badajoz. This enormous land sprinkled of oaks where he was born and spent the first years of his life, is perhaps the deeper track that marks his music. Starred nights of summer, the caress of the nocturnal breeze, the sedative song of the crickets, immense horizons, deeply blue skies and silence.

The extremely dense and hypnotic sonic landscapes of Max Corbacho are a constant reference to these elements – elements which condense and act as catalysts, pointing to the essence of the great and ineffable mystery of our existence. Corbacho’s musical expression has the ability to draw us into this wonderful mystery.

His musical trajectory began, after making guitar studies, in local rock bands and, after some years as an electric guitar player, he slowly become interested in electronic music. First, with legendary bands like Tangerine Dream or artists such as Richard Burmer and Vangelis. Later influences include Brian Eno, Robert Rich, Steve Roach, Vidna Obmana, Alio Die and Michael Stearns.

In 1999 his first work, Vestiges, was produced. Soon the prestigious online store Backroads Music chose this album as one of the best of 2000, and Vestiges became one of the more highly praised Space-ambient CD´s around that time. Vestiges was considered a sincere, touching, powerful work, full of mystery.

In the year 2000 Max published his second CD, Far Beyond The Immobile Point, followed by The Resonant Memory of Earth, published by the North American label “Space For Music”. Further releases include Nocturnal Emanations, Indalo and Moontribe – each one larger and more accomplished than the last. Max has also worked in close collaboration with Argentine musician (settled now in Barcelona) Bruno Sanfilippo, releasing a CD together and setting up the record label ad21music.

The album The Talisman is yet another step forward. Here the artist explains: I have tried to create all the songs of this work “inside” my synthesizers exclusively, inside this deeply isolated world, an amniotic-like innerspace that develops in the synth and multi-effects circuits, without inserting any “external” elements, except for the voices in the first song. Also, I have experimented more and more with long, spacious reverbs and looping treatments. Thus, the music’s “oceanic” nature is strengthened, creating an atemporal quality, suspended in time and space, without rare elements disrupting the internal balance and natural flow of harmonic streams. No tempo, no synchronization, maybe only the breathing and pulse of the artist.

Max Corbacho’s recent albums follow the progression into deep, silken ambience set by The Resonant Memory of Earth and The Talisman: Breathstream and Ars Lucis deepen in the search of sublime melody-free magnificence, ethereal electronics and vaporous textures.

Max’s first release on Relaxed Machinery, Lost Links, is a collection of pieces that were created for other albums between 2003 and 2009, but had to be excluded for various reasons. It serves as an excellent introduction to Max’s music, and stands as a fine, cohesive album in its own right.

The Max Corbacho website provides clips to listen to, free exclusive downloads and online store.

Relaxed Machinery Releases

[child-pages child_of =”14″ meta_key=”artist” meta_value=”max-corbacho”]

Other Releases

  • LOST LINKS (2011)
  • DEEP TIME (2010)
  • ARS LUCIS  (2009)
  • BREATHSTREAM  (2008)
  • THE TALISMAN  (2006)
  • MOONTRIBE  (2004)
  • INDALO  (2003)
  • VESTIGES  (1998)